top of page

New Year...Same Old You?


If you live in this wonderful place we call America, then you have surely witnessed friends, foes, and family members make extremely ambitious declarations of things to come in the new year. I call it the “Resolution Revolution.” A while back, it seemed like a rite of passage to make a resolution, but now we have upgraded to the catchy, yet overused “New Year, New You” slogan. Now, here we are at the end of another year... Did you write that book? Did you start that business? Did you...lose that weight? If you're anything like me, the answer to all of those questions is a big FAT NO! I'm literally no closer to being "New!"

I know this cycle can be quite disheartening, but don't be discouraged. I too have been guilty of falling into this trend and making promises that were likely broken before they could make it out of the month of January...but this year I've decided to change my thinking and try something new.

I call it the NettieBee 2.0 Challenge. This is where I take the time to learn myself, love myself, and then begin to improve upon myself. I see it like this: Apple is top shelf when it comes to phones. They have the iPhone dynasty that continues to get more advanced and in dept. When Apple decided it was time to add new technology to their product, they didn’t go in the lab and make a jPhone, or an kPhone. They simply upgraded the current iPhone, slapped a new number or letter behind it, and resold it on the market for about a grand!

I have decided to take that same approach with my goals for the new year and the years to come. Yep, NettieBee 2.0! The term 2.0 is an adjective used to denote a superior or more advanced version of an original concept, product, service, etc…per google. Who says we can't improve upon our original selves? Who says we have to be “new?” I happen to like “old” me. I don't necessarily like these "old" fat cells as much, but it definitely doesn't take away from my love of self.

I think these loaded slogans and unrealistic expectations can set us up for failure. It’s time to love ourselves enough to see the value in self-improvement. It won’t happen overnight, but with a little consistency...and a lot of prayer, we will begin to see the changes we desire to have in the new year and in this ONE life we have to live. Are you ready to become Fabulous 2.0?? Let's upgrade together!

Love you and I mean it! 🐝

NettieBee...2.0.

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page