top of page

Putting BED to B.E.D.

What is BED? It stands for Binge Eating Disorder. Sounds bad huh? Well you don't know the half! Let me share a quick synopsis.The following excerpt was taken from the National Eating Disorders website and it explains the definition of BED.

"Binge eating disorder (BED) is an eating disorder characterized by recurrent episodes of eating large quantities of food (often very quickly and to the point of discomfort); a feeling of a loss of control during the binge; experiencing shame, distress or guilt afterwards; and not regularly using unhealthy compensatory measures (e.g., purging) to counter the binge eating. Binge eating disorder is a severe, life-threatening and treatable eating disorder. Common aspects of BED include functional impairment, suicide risk and a high frequency of co-occurring psychiatric disorders."

Does this sound like a fun disorder to have? Well, I'm here to tell you that it's not. I'm sitting in my car in front of the McDonald's as I write this post. All I want is about 25 or so nuggets, the largest fry they sell, a stack or two of pancakes and 6 cookies. That's all...

I get so angry at myself because I can be doing great one second and the very next second I'm mid-binge and contemplating whether or not to purge it all back or just go sleep off the guilt. The worst part is that my doctor literally just told me that I lost 12.5lbs this past week. I'm so proud of my progress, but my how fleeting is that feeling of victory...it's heartbreaking.

After I post this article, I'm going to back out of this parking and go home. I am praying all the way there that God will continue to keep my mind and help me crave Him more than I crave food. I'm stronger than this. I have more fight in me than this. Yes, I have battled with binge eating disorder, but it will not win.

It's time for me to put BED. to B.E.D once and for all. One day, one meal at a time. Pray for your girl, okay?

I love you and I mean it!

NettieBee...2.0 🐝

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page